Traditional Prayers: Part 2

Act of Faith
O my God, I firmly believe all the truths
that the holy Catholic Church believes and teaches.
I believe these truths O Lord,
because You have revealed them to her.
In this faith I am resolved to live and die. Amen.

Act of Hope
O my God, relying on Thy promises,
I hope that, through the merits of Jesus Christ,
you will grant me pardon of my sins,
and the graces necessary to serve you in this life
and to obtain eternal happiness in the next. Amen.

Act of Charity
O my God, I love you with my whole heart
and above all things,
Because You are infinitely good and perfect,
And I love my neighbor as myself for love of You.
Grant that I may love You more and more in this life,
and in the next for all eternity. Amen.

Short Act of Contrition
O my God, I am sorry that I have sinned against You,
because You are so good,
and with the help of your grace, I will not sin again. Amen

Long Act of Contrition
O my God, I am sorry and beg pardon for all my sins,
And detest them above all things,
Because they deserve Thy dreadful punishments,
Because they have crucified my loving Saviour
Jesus Christ, and, most of all,
Because they offend Thine infinite goodness;
And I firmly resolve, with the help of Thy grace,
never to offend Thee again,
and carefully to avoid the occasions of sin. Amen

Simple Acts of Faith, Hope and Charity.
Jesus, I believe in you.
Jesus, I trust in you.
Jesus, I love you.

The Angelus, (to be said morning, noon and eve.)

The Angel of the Lord declared unto Mary.
R. And she conceived by the Holy Ghost.
Hail, Mary…
V. Behold the handmaid of the Lord.
R. Be it done unto me according to Thy word.
Hail, Mary…
V. And The Word Was Made Flesh.
R. And dwelt amongst us.
Hail, Mary…
V. Pray for us, O holy Mother of God.
R. That we be made worthy of the promises of Christ.

Let us pray:
Pour forth we beseech thee O Lord
Thy grace into our hearts,
through we to whom the incarnation of Christ Thy Son
was made known by the message of an angel,
may, by HIs passion and Cross,
be brought to the glory of His Resurrection.
Through the same Christ our Lord. Amen

The Salve Regina (Hail Holy Queen)

Hail, holy Queen, Mother of mercy.
Hail our life, our sweetness and our hope!
To thee do we cry, poor banished children of Eve,
to thee do we send up our sighs,
mourning and weeping in this valley of tears.
Turn then, most gracious advocate,
Thine eyes of mercy towards us,
and after this, our exile,
show unto us the blessed fruit of thy womb, Jesus.
O clement, O loving, O sweet Virgin Mary!
V. Pray for us, O Holy Mother of God
R. That we may be made worthy of the promises of Christ.

The Memorare

Remember, O most loving Virgin Mary,
that never was it known in any age
that anyone who fled to thy protection,
implored thy help or sought thy intercession,
was abandoned.
Inspired with confidence, therefore,
I fly to thee, O Virgin of virgins, my Mother;
to thee do I come, before thee I stand,
sinful and sorrowful.
Do not, O Mother of the Word Incarnate,
despise my prayers,
but graciously hear and grant them. Amen.

The Confiteor

I confess to Almighty God,
to the blessed Mary, ever Virgin,
to blessed Michael the Archangel,
to blessed John the Baptist,
to the Holy Apostles Peter and Paul,
and to all the Saints,
that I have sinned exceedingly in thought, word and deed,
through my fault, through my fault, through my most grievous fault.
Therefore I beseech blessed Mary, ever Virgin,
blessed Michael the Archangel,
blessed John the Baptist,
the holy Apostles Peter and Paul,
and all the Saints, to pray to the Lord our God for me.
May the Almighty God have mercy on me,
and forgive me my sins, and bring me to everlasting life. Amen.

The Magnificat
My soul magnifies the Lord
My spirit rejoices in God, my Saviour.
He looks on His servant in her lowliness,
Henceforth, all ages will call me blessed.
The Almighty has done great things for me.
Holy is His Name.
His mercy is from age to age on those who fear Him.
He puts forth His arm in strength and scatters the proud-hearted.
He casts the mighty from their thrones, and raises the lowly.
The hungry He has filled with good things, the rich sent empty away.
He protects Israel, His servant,
remembering his mercy,
The mercy promised to our fathers,
To Abraham and his sons forever.

Glory be to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit. Amen.

Published by

remnant survivor

Traditional Catholic; member of Jesus' Remnant Army and member of a Jesus to Mankind Prayer Group.