Thought for the Day – Tuesday, 29th December, 2015

The thought for the day is from Donna, who opens the Bible randomly each day for a point to reflect upon.

Jeremiah 7: 1-15. (Jerusalem Bible)

1 The word that came to Jeremiah from Yahweh, saying,
2 ‘Stand at the gate of the Temple of Yahweh and there proclaim this message. Say, “Listen to the word of Yahweh, all you of Judah who come in by these gates to worship Yahweh.
3 Yahweh Sabaoth, the God of Israel, says this: Amend your behaviour and your actions and I will let you stay in this place.
4 Do not put your faith in delusive words, such as: This is Yahweh’s sanctuary, Yahweh’s sanctuary, Yahweh’s sanctuary!
5 But if you really amend your behaviour and your actions, if you really treat one another fairly,
6 if you do not exploit the stranger, the orphan and the widow, if you do not shed innocent blood in this place and if you do not follow other gods, to your own ruin,
7 then I shall let you stay in this place, in the country I gave for ever to your ancestors of old.
8 Look, you are putting your faith in delusive, worthless words!
9 Steal, would you, murder, commit adultery, perjure yourselves, burn incense to Baal, follow other gods of whom you know nothing? –
10 and then come and stand before me in this Temple that bears my name, saying: Now we are safe to go on doing all these loathsome things!
11 Do you look on this Temple that bears my name as a den of bandits? I, at any rate, can see straight, Yahweh declares.
12 “Now go to the place which used to be mine at Shiloh, where I once gave my name a home; see what I have done to it because of the wickedness of my people Israel!
13 And now, since you have done all these things, Yahweh declares, and refused to listen when I spoke so urgently, so persistently, or to answer when I called you,
14 I shall treat this Temple that bears my name, and in which you put your heart, the place that I gave you and your ancestors, just as I treated Shiloh,
15 and I shall drive you out of my sight, as I did all your kinsfolk, the whole race of Ephraim.”

Comment:

This is an interesting thought for the day. It was early in the day.
Later in the afternoon, my mum attended a JTM Crusade Prayer Meeting and the readings seemed to be on the same theme. (See JTM Crusade Prayer Meeting Tuesday 29th December, 2015)

I think it’s for the future and also now.
It asks us not to put our trust in those who simply proclaim “This is the sanctuary of The Lord”. This brings to mind – One world churchNew masses?

We have been warned (i.e. we who are listening to God speaking/ to His Word) that the faithful congregations will be asked to show allegiance to, and bow down before that which is not Christ (the AC, the false prophet etc) including new beliefs and words. Do not think that because they cry “This is the Lords Sanctuary!” that it will honour Him. No! Keep on the look out so you only show allegiance to Jesus Christ. Do not honour false gods before him or commit sins willingly and come to His altar! His WARNING is clear on this.

The words I have highlighted in the reading above are food for thought.

Published by

remnant survivor

Traditional Catholic; member of Jesus' Remnant Army and member of a Jesus to Mankind Prayer Group.