Morning Bible Reading Tuesday 24th January, 2017

This morning I opened on this Bible passage. As usual, The Lord is amazing at what he provides: 🙂

The Lord welcomes Converts

Isaiah 56

This says the Lord:

Have a care for justice, act with integrity, for soon my salvation will come and my integrity be manifest.

Blessed is the man who does this and the son of man who clings to it: observing the sabbath, not profaning it, and keeping his hand from every evil deed.

Let no foreigner who has attached himself to the Lord say, “The Lord will surely exclude me from his people”. Let no eunuch say, “And I..I am a dried up tree.”

For The Lord says this:

To the eunuchs who observe my sabbaths and resolve to do what pleases me, and cling to my covenant, I will give, in my house and within my walls, a monument and a name, better than sons and daughters; I will give them an everlasting name that shall never be effaced.

Foreigners who have attached themselves to the Lord to serve him and to love his name and be his servants– all who observe the sabbath, not profaning it, and cling to my covenant- these I will bring to my holy mountain.

I will make them joyful in my house of prayer. Their holocausts and their sacrifices will be accepted on my altar, for my house will be called a house of prayer for all the peoples.

It is the Lord who speaks, who gathers the outcasts of Israel: there are others I will gather besides those already gathered.

(Taken from The CTS New Catholic Bible. The Incorporated Catholic Truth Society, 2007.)

________________________________________________________________

This passage brings overwhelming joy. It speaks to me of all those who, with careful devotion, follow God’s Commands, in heart and action. However it speaks a mighty promise to those who may have thought themselves less worthy of God’s promises and rewards.

I think that the promise made to foreigners is for Moslems; many of whom will convert to Jesus Christ at The Warning and many of whom have converted even now! They will be joyful in the house of The Lord!! And all their sacrifices and holocausts will be accepted! This brings me great joy!

God refers also to eunuchs which remind me of several different types of people suffering today: The priests, nuns and brothers (consecrated celibates) who are suffering much at this time, the men and women who were abandoned by their spouses and now live chaste and celibate lives in fidelity to Christ’s instructions and the single men and women who equally serve Christ in integrity and fidelity, living chaste and holy lives as single men and women of God. This includes men and women who experience same sex attraction but have chosen to battle their sinfulness (like any of us) and to live chaste, celibate and holy lives for God- as we all should.

God has a special reward stored up for them and they shall not be disappointed!

He has a special reward waiting for these eunuchs. A reward better than sons and daughters! A name and monument everlasting!!

Jesus Himself in the Gospels, speaks about eunuchs and having done a little research to check my understanding of eunuchs, (as I interpreted God’s Word this morning), this seems to confirm my understanding.

In Matthew 19:12, Jesus mentions eunuchs in the context of whether it is good to marry. He says, “There are eunuchs who were born that way, and there are eunuchs who have been made eunuchs by others—and there are those who choose to live like eunuchs for the sake of the kingdom of heaven. The one who can accept this should accept it.” Jesus identifies three types of “eunuchs” here: natural eunuchs (“born that way”), forced eunuchs (“made eunuchs by others”), and voluntary eunuchs (“those who choose”).

Natural eunuchs include those who are born with a physical defect, but they also comprise those who are born with no real desire for marriage or sex. Forced eunuchs are those who have been castrated for whatever reason. Voluntary eunuchs are those who, in order to better serve the Lord in some capacity, choose to forego marriage. God calls some people to remain single (and therefore celibate). Paul speaks of those who serve the Lord in their unmarried state in 1 Corinthians 7:7—9.

(Taken from: https://www.gotquestions.org/eunuch-eunuchs.html)

Praise God that all of this will take place soon! Piaise God for the conversions that will and are happening; that will take place in great numbers very soon!

 By Donna Liane

Published by

DonnaLiane

Catholic mother of seven children. Crusade prayer warrior in Jesus' Final Mission to save souls.